Rodrigue Couleurs et Lumière
Stained Glass Studio, Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Stained glass in every home...

Multiple usages of stained glass

example of a sketchStained glass is available in many ways: fixed or suspended stained glass window panel, decorative panel, rose window, mirror, sky light, lantern and lamp. It is used to hide a poor view, to preserve the privacy of a room, to beautify a window or a door, to reduce a too bright lighting or to create a captivating and cozy atmosphere, conducing to meditation. The pattern of a stained glass can be figurative or geometric or a combination of both.

How to achieve a stained glass project

A stained glass project starts with a meeting with the client to gather information about their needs and their tastes. Measurements are taken and an estimate is given. A sketch is made to continue the discussion. When the artisan and his client agreed about the sketch, design of a cutting and assembly plan is performed. The craftsman's know-how is important at this stage to observe the technical and structural elements that ensure the soundness of the window. Then, the colors of the glass sheets are selected and the pieces are cut by hand and carefully polished. They are then wrapped up with a copper foil and soldered together. A uniform black finish is made with patina on the solder joint to prevent tarnishing.

Technical advantages of stained glass made by Rodrigue Couleurs et Lumière
detail of glass thickness
The glass thickness used is 3mm. Thick enough to be strong, thin enough to be light and bright. The stained glass window is not likely to sag under its own weight with age.
detail of opalescent glass
Opalescent glass is a non-transparent colored glass. Colors with a white base lets a lot of light to go in and have a nice effect continuously changing along with the time of day.
detail of narrow soldering
Fine solderings of 3 to 4 mm wide yield the surface entirely available to the glass. Such stained glass lets a lot more light go in than the old large joints windows.
detail of polished, smooth and patinated welds
The solder joint is carefully applied in a rounded shape, abraded, polished and coated with a patina finish for smooth, safe to the touch and easy to clean.

lead free stained glass labelFor your peace of mind and to avoid put at risk the health of your artisan, stained glass are assembled without lead. The solder used is a eutectic alloy of tin, copper and silver. The frame and the reinforcement elements are made of zinc and copper.

the steps: the sketch, the cutting assembly plan and the resultRodrigue Couleurs et Lumière Studio also makes the wooden frame of the stained glass when required and the installation at the customer site.

The price of a window is quite expensive because of the time invested in manufacturing and materials used in a proportion of 2/3 and 1/3 respectively. It is calculated according to the size of the project, the number of pieces per unit area and the level of difficulty of the installation.

Each custom project is well documented with assembly drawings, the part numbers of glass manufacturers, the wooden frame construction details, stain and varnish, etc., so that it is possible to add a unit well-matched to a set of existing stained glass windows. Lamps and lanterns that are not made on customized order are unique colors units because they are partly made with the inevitable glass scraps that accumulate over time and projects.

share this
content :

Rodrigue Couleurs et Lumière
atelier de vitrail, Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada
Un vitrail dans chaque maison...

La polyvalence du vitrail

exemple de croquisLe vitrail se décline en maintes façons: le panneau en verrière, en vitrerie, en rosace ou décoratif, le miroir, le puits de lumière, la lanterne et la lampe. On l'utilise pour cacher une vue médiocre, pour préserver l'intimité d'une pièce, pour embellir une fenêtre, pour atténuer un éclairage trop ardent ou pour créer une ambiance enveloppante et feutrée ou propice au recueillement. Le motif d'un vitrail peut être figuratif ou géométrique ou une combinaison des deux.

Comment se réalise un projet de vitrail

Un projet de vitrail débute par une rencontre avec le client afin de collecter l'information sur ses besoins et ses goûts. Les mesures sont prises et une estimation est donnée. Un croquis est réalisé pour poursuivre la discussion. Lorsque l'artisan et son client se sont entendus à propos du croquis, le design du plan de coupe et d'assemblage est effectué. Le savoir-faire de l'artisan est important à cette étape afin de respecter les contraintes techniques et structurelles qui assurent de la solidité du vitrail. Puis les couleurs des feuilles de verre sont choisies et les pièces sont découpées soigneusement à la main et polies. Elles sont ensuite serties d'un ruban de cuivre et assemblées par soudage. Une finition noire et uniforme par patine est effectuée sur le joint de soudure pour prévenir le ternissement.

Avantages techniques des vitraux fabriqués par Atelier Rodrigue Couleurs et Lumière
détail de l'épaisseur du verre
Le verre a une épaisseur de 3mm. Suffisamment épais pour être solide, assez mince pour être léger et clair. Le vitrail ne risque pas de s'affaiser sous son propre poids avec l'âge.
détail du verre opalescent
Le verre opalescent est un verre coloré sans être transparent. Les couleurs avec une base de blanc laisse passer la lumière et ont un bel effet changeant selon la période du jour.
détail des soudures étroites
Des soudures fines de 3 à 4 mm de largeur cèdent toute la surface disponible au verre. Le vitrail laisse passer beaucoup plus de lumière que les vitraux anciens aux soudures larges.
détail des soudures polies, lisses et patinées
Le joint de soudure est soigneusement appliqué en forme arrondie puis abrasé, poli et recouvert d'une patine pour un fini bien lisse et facilement lavable.

vitraux sans plombPour votre paix d'esprit et pour ne pas mettre à risque la santé de l'artisan, les vitraux sont assemblés sans plomb. La soudure est un alliage eutectique d'étain, de cuivre et d'argent. Les éléments de cadrage et de renforcement sont fait de zinc et de cuivre.

croquis, plan de coupe et vitrailAtelier Rodrigue Couleurs et Lumière effectue l'encadrement en bois et l'installation chez le client lorsque requis.

Un vitrail est dispendieux. Le temps de fabrication et les matériaux comptent dans une proportion de 2/3 et 1/3 respectivement. Il est calculé en fonction de la dimension du projet, du nombre de pièces par unité de surface et par le niveau de difficulté de l'installation.

Chaque projet fait sur mesure est bien documenté avec les plans d'assemblage, les numéros des fabricants de verre, la construction de l'encadrement, la teinture et le vernis, etc, afin qu'il soit possible d'ajouter une unité supplémentaire à un ensemble de vitraux existant. Les lampes et les lanternes qui ne sont pas fabriquées sur commande sont des exemplaires aux couleurs uniques. Elles sont composées en partie avec les inévitables retailles de verre qui s'accumulent au fil du temps et des projets.

partager ce
contenu :